Florida Federation of Garden Clubs, Inc.

Post-Convention Board of Directors Meeting Wednesday April 14, 2021

Call to Order:

President Marjorie Hendon called the Post-Convention Board of Directors meeting to order at 9:00AM.

The president welcomed everyone to the first Board of Directors meeting of her administration. The theme of her administration will be "Worlds of Wonder".

Invocation/Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America:

Pat Strawn, FFGC Chaplain, gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Quorum:

The chair stated that a quorum was present.

REGULAR BUSINESS IN ORDER

Appointment of Committees:

The Chair named the following committees who were appointed with no objections.

Committee to Approve the Minutes

The President appointed Gwen Carter (chairman), Brenda Luedeman, and Arlene Rand to approve the minutes of this meeting.

Tellers of the Meeting:

The President appointed Helen Purvis (chairman), Joanne Mulinare, and Donna Berger to serve as tellers for this meeting.

Timekeeper for this meeting:

The President appointed Cheryl Howard and Sandra Messer as timekeepers for this meeting.

Reports of the committees to approve the minutes of the special Post-Convention board meeting and the Post-Convention board meeting will be heard at the next meeting of the Board of Directors on September 8 and 9, 2021.

Introductions

Officer Introductions:

The President introduced the officers: Mary Whisler, third vice president; Christy Linke, second vice president; Tina Tuttle, first vice president; Sue Roberts, recording secretary; Jana Walling, treasurer; and Carolyn Lowery-Nation, parliamentarian.

Finance Committee

The chair appointed the following to serve on the Finance Committee:

Tina Tuttle, First Vice President and Chairman of the Finance Committee

Christy Linke, Second Vice President

Mary Whisler, Third vice President

Jana Walling, treasurer

Sue Angle, chairman of the Headquarters and Endowment Committee

Claudia Bates

Gina Jogan

Kelley Wood

Marjorie Hendon, President

Headquarters and Endowment Committee

The nominating committee for Headquarters and Endowment Committee (H&E) was chaired by Claudia Bates along with Joanne Mulinare and Jan Griffin. The H&E Nominating committee placed the names of JoAnn Guise, district X, and Gwen Carter, district VII, in nomination as Trustees for three year terms. No Nominations were received from the floor. JoAnn Guise and Gwen Carter were approved unanimously.

The current members of the H&E committee are:

Sue Angle, chairman

Tina Tuttle

Mary Whisler

Sue Roberts

Cissy Richardson

JoAnn Guise

Gwen Carter

Jana Walling

Marge Hendon, President

Fiscal Agent

Sue Roberts moved that Jana Walling, the FFGC Treasurer, serve as fiscal Agent for FFGC for 2021-2023. This was approved unanimously.

Strategic Planning Committee

The Strategic Planning Committee nominating committee is to be created. The chair appointed Cheryl Howard to chair this committee. Two more members need to be elected. Helen Purvis and Cissy Richardson volunteered and were elected to serve on the Strategic Planning Committee nominating committee. They will report at the September board meeting with nominees to replace those whose term expires in 2021. Current members of the Strategic Planning committee are:

Marge Hendon

Tina Tuttle

Christy Linke

Mary Whisler

Ingrid Velez (took over for Jan Sillik, term expires in 2021)

Carol Wood

Carolyn-Lowry-Nation (took over for Judy Clark, term expires 2021)

Gina Jogan

Ed Nendick

Valerie Seinfeld

REPORTS OF DISTRICT DIRECTORS:

Each district director present was asked to introduce themselves, tell a little bit about themselves and introduce their assistant directors. Districts 2, 3, and 9 were not present.

District	Director	Assistant Director
1	Joyce Waters-Smith	Jenny Weber
2 (not present)	Sue Schmitz	Shirley Edwards
3 (not present)	Marilyn Larson	Linda Feifarek-Johnson
4	Connie Gladding	Beverly Williams
5	Donna Thomas	Carol Stevens
6	Suzi Bailey	Valerie Seinfeld
7	Charlotte White	Joanne Mulinare
8	Kitty Wallace	Phyllis Weber
9 (not present)	Dale DeFeo	Claudia Chopp
10	Michelle Maguire	Peggy Gahn
11	Sharon Bogard	Bonny Miller Cole
12	Leticia Delatorre Gunn	Joanne Rosenbluth-Rigl

LIST OF CHAIRMEN:

The chairmen on the Board of Directors were approved at the Special Post-Convention Board of Directors meeting earlier this morning. All were asked to check the list and make any corrections necessary by reporting them to Linda Johnson, the BOI Editor, no later than June 1. A complete list will be included in the new BOI in September.

There were no committee chairmen reports at this meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

An up-to-date Calendar of Events will be on the Website under the drop-down EVENTS.

Carol Hall, incoming Deep South Director, reported on her theme ("Plant Deep South with a Rainbow of Colors"), her Unified Deep South Project, and the upcoming convention locations.

Next Board Meeting will be September 8-9, 2021 with the Pre-Board meetings on September 6-7, 2021.

All chairmen were asked to prepare Long and Short term goals for 2021-2023 and a plan of action for your committee. Please Email these to Ingrid Velez, corresponding secretary, and President Marge Hendon by August 15, 2021.

BENEDICTION:

Pat Strawn, FFGC Chaplain, gave the benediction.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 AM.

_Susan Roberts
Susan Roberts, FFGC Recording Secretary
Attest:
_Marge Hendon
Marjorie Hendon, FFGC President

Approved with corrections by committee: Gwen Carter, Arlene Rand, Brenda Luedeman